Mocha Chip Cookies

by annecalista

Are you a coffee drinker? I am.

I got hooked on it my freshman year of college.  I never liked coffee before that, and I only tried it again when I was desperate for energy after a couple of months of discovering the joy of not having to get up at 6am for school everyday and sometimes staying up all night.

Don’t go thinking my college days were that crazy.  I was on a dry campus with visitation hours in the dorms.  (That means that men and women were only allowed on one another’s floors at certain hours everyday.  For reals.)

Nevertheless, I seriously messed up my sleep schedule when I was 19, I turned to coffee and have never looked back.  I enjoy it responsibly, however, usually sticking to just one cup a day.  Or one double-shot red eye, so what?

Want another source of caffeine? Or a caffeinated snack to go with your afternoon coffee?  Here ya go.

Mocha Chip Cookies

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook

Makes 3 dozen cookies

Prep time: 15 minutes/Bake Time: 13 minutes

Ingredients

1 cup canola oil

2 cups brown sugar

2 tablespoons ground flax seeds

6 tablespoons warm water

1/2 cup cold coffee

3 cups unbleached flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 400.

Combine flax and water in a small bowl and set aside. This is your “egg”. It needs a few minutes to become jelly-like.

Mix oil and sugar together in a bowl.

Combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a large bowl.

Add flax “egg” and coffee to the oil and sugar mixture and stir to combine.

Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix just until everything is combined.

Stir in chocolate chips.

Drop the dough by tablespoons or use a cookie scoop to portion out the dough on a cookie sheet lined with parchment.

Bake for 13 minutes, allow to cool on the sheets for a few minutes and then transfer the cookies to a cooling rack.

This is a big batch o’ cookies, make sure you have some people to share them with.  I can always count on my coworkers.

PS I tried some caffeinated popcorn today.  Yeah.  That’s a thing.

-Anne Calista

