Chocolate Chip Caramel Cookie Bars

I have a new crush.  We haven’t met yet, but I just know it’s going to work out.

This recipe is inspired by a brilliant cookie recipe I saw in my new crush’s cookbook.  The idea is a crazy good chocolate chip cookie with marshmallows and cereal thrown in the mix.  I threw in some flax and coconut too, just because I have to be difficult and can hardly ever follow a recipe exactly.  I also baked my cookies as bars, which called for a change in the baking time.  This resulted in the marshmallows completely melting and creating little pools of caramel throughout the bars.

Holy cookie goodness.

These cookies are not pretty.  They’re messy, gooey, and sticky.  And insanely delicious.  The rice crispies add a delightful crunch that reminds me of Crunch bars and Kit Kats.  I fully support the addition of cereal in desserts.

Chocolate Caramel Cookie Bars

Adapted from Momofuku Milk Bar

Makes 20 cookies

Prep time: 1 hour 20 minutes/Bake time: 28 minutes

2 sticks unsalted butter  (Make sure to have it at room temperature)

1/3 cup sugar

1 1/3 cup brown sugar

1 ‘flax egg’ ( 1 tablespoon ground flax mixed with 3 tablespoons warm water)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/4 teaspoon salt

1 1/4 cups mini marshmallows

3 cups rice crispies cereal

2/3 cup chocolate chips

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut

Preheat oven to 375 and grease a 9″ x 13″ pan.

Prep your flax egg and set aside.  Or just use a real egg.

Cream your butter and sugar with a mixer for about five minutes until everything is fully combined and fluffy. (I don’t have a fancy stand mixer, just a basic hand-held one).

Add the flax egg and the vanilla and blend completely.

Add the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt and blend yet again.

Fold in the rice crispies, chocolate chips and coconut, then fold in the marshmallows.  (Wanna know a secret? I used big marshmallows because I had them intending to use them for something else, and just cut them up into mini-marshmallow pieces.  I did have to coat them with flour to get them to separate).

Transfer batter to pan, pressing it down evenly.

Refrigerate for 1 hour or overnight.

Bake for 28 minutes, allow to cool for a few minutes and cut while they are still warm and gooey.  The cookies will be much more difficult to cut if you let them cool completely.

Share them with some friends!

Watch them disappear.

-Anne Calista

Ps. I’m planning a trip to New York City.