Beet Salad with Squash and Goat Cheese

by annecalista

Today I’m home with a cold.  I’m kind of a wimp when I’m sick, and I know that.  I’m not super sick, but I can’t breathe out of my nose and I’m sneezing nonstop and I can’t leave the room without bringing my tissues along with me.  I’m trying to rest but I keep thinking of all the things I could be doing on my day off other than lying in my sailboat and lighthouse-upholstered recliner and browsing the internet.  At least I found my way back here and am writing a post while I’m not doing any number of other things I wanted to get accomplished.  I’ll just go with that.

Last time I was sick, I was truly sick.  As in, I could barely stand up, missed a week of work, had a fever of 103, woke up alternatively drenched in sweat or completely freezing, spent 10 hours in the ER sick.  After that I found I had a renewed motivation to eat my vegetables, especially my green vegetables, even in the winter when all I want to eat is oatmeal and soup and bread and butter and hot chocolate. I’ve been doing pretty well with it and have evaded sickness for the past four months.  I try to remember that having a cold is my body’s way of telling me to slow down, chill out and take some time to rest.  As I mentioned before, I have a hard time resting, which sounds silly but it runs in my family.   I like being home and having free time but I can’t often just relax and watch or read something for fun.  I can’t lie around in bed when I wake up.  I can’t stand watching movies in the morning.  I want to get stuff done!  I like having projects to work on.  I even like running errands sometimes.

I also like working with my hands, which is one reason I like to cook and bake.  I realize that a beet salad isn’t what one would expect to see on a baking blog, but I don’t eat cookies and cake for every meal of the day.  If I could describe my ideal way of eating it would include something fresh and delicious like this beet salad, followed by something sweet.  I eat chocolate nearly everyday, but I also love my greens!

All of that rambling just to introduce this simple winter salad.  I didn’t make this recipe up, I’ve seen similar beet salads on many restaurant menus.  It’s just got such a fabulous combination of ingredients that when I happened to have them on hand I couldn’t resist making it at home.  My addition was the squash. I haven’t seen that in a beet salad anywhere!  I made this for my Mom and I recently for lunch on a sunny winter day.

Beet Salad with Squash and Goat Cheese

Salad greens (I used Olivia’s Organics mixed greens)

Roasted/boiled and peeled beets, chopped or sliced

Roasted winter squash (I used acorn squash), cubed

Goat cheese

Toasted walnuts and pumpkin seeds

Juice of one lemon

Olive oil

Apple cider vinegar

Salt and pepper to taste (optional)

Combine olive oil, vinegar, S+P and lemon juice in a small bowl or jar and whisk to combine.  I don’t usually measure when I’m making salad dressings but I’d guess I use about 1/3 cup olive oil, and 1/4 cup vinegar for 2-3 salads.

Toss all ingredients together.  That’s it!

-Anne Calista

