Go-To Chocolate Mousse Pie

by annecalista

Ok, that’s it.  I’m hereby declaring my favorite dessert ever.

And it’s chocolate mousse.

This is kind of a big deal.  It’s taken me awhile to really recognize what I prefer to eat.  I’ve never been a picky eater, and I find myself now, at age 26, finally figuring out what I like to eat, what makes me feel good to eat at any given meal.  It seems simple, but it took me awhile to start to be able to decipher my preferences in food.  This is what I’ve decided at this point in my life: I feel good eating fresh vegetables and fruits, very little to no meat, a bit of dairy, and plenty of chocolate.

This pie meets my criteria.  I’m a little too excited about it.

I came across a chocolate-tofu mousse recipe recently and thought it might be cool to try it out.  I’m a tofu lover, just so you know.  Then a few days later, I came across another chocolate tofu mousse recipe, this one a little bit fancier and in pie form.  Then I decided to make “real” chocolate mousse.  I read through all the directions, and was just about to get out my three mixing bowls, eggs, sugar, skillet of water to simmer, the works, when I bailed on that idea and went with the tofu mousse.  I combined and tweaked two different recipes to create a new one. It comes together in about 15 minutes and no baking is necessary.  I know, this is a blog about baking.  But this recipe is so unbelievably easy and so insanely delicious I had to share it with y’all.

Plus, the crust is baked a little bit.

The filling tastes just like classic chocolate mousse.  Creamy, light, chocolatey, but not overly sweet.  The crust is a cookie-crumb butter crust, and could easily be made vegan (which would make the pie completely vegan) by using Earth Balance or oil instead of butter.  I used Biscoff cookies, which ended up tasting almost like graham cracker crumbs in crust form, but better.  Richer, more caramel in flavor.  You could easily substitute your favorite cookie or good ol’ graham crackers for the crust.

Check it out!

Go-To Chocolate Mousse Pie

Prep time: 15 minutes/Bake Time: 9 minutes (for the crust)

Makes 8 servings

For the crust:

2 cups Biscoff cookie crumbs -> I used 1 package of Biscoff cookies, putting them in a plastic bag and crumbling them using a rolling pin.

5 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine cookie crumbs and butter right in your pie pan and press evenly over the bottom and up the sides.

Bake for 9 minutes.  Remove from the oven and set aside to cool.

For the filling:

1 14-ounce package extra firm tofu

1/2 cup Tofutti cream cheese (or regular cream cheese)

1 1/4 cups dark chocolate chips, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine everything in a food processor or blender and blend until smooth, about 2 minutes.

Pour filling into pie crust.  Try not to eat it all in the process.

Refrigerate a few hours or overnight.

Enjoy!

Anne Calista

