Veggie Pot Pie

by annecalista

Hi again.  It’s been way too long since my last post.  Honestly, I didn’t have anything to post about.  I was kind of at a loss for inspiration for a bit, and it seemed like anything that was produced in my kitchen was boring and ugly.  Case in point:

This was an attempt to make a fancy almond-coconut torte with an apricot-ginger glaze that just came out looking like sludge.  It tasted great, but I couldn’t bring myself to post the recipe, much less bring it out in public to share it with anyone.  It’s still sitting in my fridge.  I’m ignoring it.

Last night I finally mustered up the energy to make something with the last of our CSA bounty: vegetable pot pie!  I thought it would be a good use for all our root veggies and was able to use up a sizable amount of them plus a pie crust I had stashed in the freezer at some point during the holiday pie frenzy.

I’d never made a pot pie from scratch before, and found it to be surprisingly easy.  Chop veggies, saute, roll out pie crust, and bake.  That’s it! You can do it too.  I won’t even be mad if you buy a pie crust from the frozen food aisle.

For my pot pie I used shallots, carrots, parsnips, turnips, a potato, some butternut squash and frozen peas. You could easily change up the vegetables in this and even make it much simpler with just carrots, potatoes and/or sweet potatoes, and peas.  Just make enough to fill your pie pan!  Get ready for some serious comfort food, but with lots of vitamins packed inside.

My cast iron pan looks beautiful filled with orange veggies!

Vegetable Pot Pie

Serves 6

Prep time: 30 minutes/Bake time: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients:

3 small shallots

6 small-medium carrots

4 parsnips

2 small turnips

1 small potato

1 cup cubed butternut squash

1/2 cup frozen peas

2 Tablespoons olive oil

2 cups vegetable stock

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup heavy cream

S+P

1 pie crust

Preheat oven to 425. Have a 9″ pie pan ready!

Roll out your pie crust.

Chop your veggies into roughly 1/2′ cubes.

Heat oil in a large pan and saute your shallots for a minute or so.

Add all your vegetables except the peas to the pan and toss to coat them with the oil.

Pour the vegetable stock over the vegetable mixture and allow to simmer on medium heat for about 10-15 minutes, until vegetables are tender but not too soft, stirring occasionally. Add the peas in near the end, since they don’t need to cook for very long.

Add the flour and stir quickly to incorporate it in with the liquid.

Pour in the cream and keep stirring!  Add your salt and pepper too.

Allow everything to cook for about 2-3 more minutes and then pour it into your pie pan.

Cover the veggie mixture with the crust and tuck the edges under.  Cut a few holes in the crust for ventilation.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

Enjoy!

-Anne Calista

