Speculoos!

by annecalista

Speculoos.  Have you heard of it?  You may have seen it via butter form in Trader Joe’s.

It’s basically a European brown sugar-sugar cookie that is traditionally made around the holidays.  Versions of it are attributed to Belgium, France, and the Netherlands.  All places I am dying to visit/move to.  That’s another story.

I was flipping through one of my favorite cookbooks, a bicentennial compilation put together to celebrate my hometown of Northwood, NH.

Guess what I found?  BELGIUME COOKIES. (Speculacie).

That made me happy.

There are great little notes along with the recipes in this cookbook.  With this recipe, there was a paragraph that ended: “This is a very old recipe handed down from my grandmother.  I’m sure you will like them.  I bake them for all my friends and they all enjoy them. Good luck.” (Emphasis mine).  I love it.

I call this photo “Summer Toes and Speculoos”.   Hope you don’t mind a toes ‘n cookies pic.

Yes, these are technically “Christmas cookies” but they are light enough to be tossed into a picnic basket in the summer, or perhaps made into ice cream sandwiches.  I know that’s what I’m planning to do with them.

If you know Biscoff cookies, these are similar in character.  Buttery, sugary, but different from classic sugar cookies because of the deep flavor of the brown sugar that’s used.

Do not be deceived by their humble appearance, they are the perfect sweet treat after a light summer meal.  And you can mix the dough right in a saucepan.  That’s pretty fun!

Speculoos

8 oz. butter -Yep. 2 sticks. Do not be afraid

1 lb. brown sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 egg

1 Tablespoon milk

3 cups flour

Melt the butter in a medium-sized pan, remove from the heat and add the brown sugar right away, mixing to combine.

Add baking soda, cream of tartar, egg, and milk and mix well.

Add flour and combine.

Spoon half of the dough onto a large piece of wax paper or tin foil.  Shape into a log and roll up tightly.  Repeat with the other half of the dough.

Refrigerate several hours or overnight.

Slice into approximately 1/4″ slices and bake at 325 for 18 minutes.

 You might want to freeze half the dough for a rainy day because this is a big batch!

 

-Annie

